Intradomain communication

An important component is intradomain communication, or the communication between Windows Server 2003 domain users and legacy domain users. Depending on your environment, different levels of domain functionality are available. If all your domain servers are Windows Server 2003 servers, the functional level is set to Windows Server 2003, providing all the Active Directory domains and forest features to you. If you still maintain NT 4.0 or Windows 2000 domain servers, your features are limited.

In Windows 2000 Server, both native and mixed modes existed. If the domain was set to mixed mode, it supported NT 4.0 backup domain controllers (BDCs), but not the use of universal security groups, group nesting, and security identifier capabilities. If the server was set to native mode, it supported all capabilities. Controllers running Windows 2000 Server are probably not aware of forest and domain capabilities. Now, with Windows Server 2003, you have three domain functionalities. These functional levels are listed in Table 9-1.

Table 9-1: Domain Functional Levels

Functional Level


Windows 2000 mixed

NT 4.0, Windows 2000, and Windows Server 2003

Windows 2000 native

Windows 2000, Windows Server 2003

Windows Server 2003

Windows Server 2003

Note Use caution in raising the domain functionality. After it's raised, the domain no longer sup ports legacy domains. A domain that is set to Windows Server 2003 for a domain functional level cannot add domains that are running Windows 2000 server.

You also need to appoint an Exchange administrator if you plan on integrating Exchange — or Lotus Notes administrators, Send Mail people, and so on.

A vital component of the LDS is that information can flow freely through the enterprise's information network and between the operational environments in which the company finds itself after a Windows Server 2003 domain greets the world.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment