Designing a Certification Authority Hierarchy

Before deploying Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Certificate Services, an organization must spend time designing the certification authority (CA) hierarchy. Developing the correct structure involves investigating and processing related requirements for application, security, business and technology, and external forces. Hierarchy elements that will be covered in this chapter include:

■ The number of tiers to use in a CA hierarchy.

■ How the CAs will be arranged in a CA hierarchy.

■ The types of certificates each CA will issue.

■ The types of CAs to be deployed at each tier.

■ Security measures to protect the CAs.

■ Whether different certificate policies will be required.

Was this article helpful?

0 -2

Post a comment